Goodwill Elects New Board Officers, Members & Honors Program Champions

AKRON, Ohio — March 27, 2024 — Goodwill serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties held its 97th Annual Meeting virtually on March 27, 2024, to elect board officers, members and honor program champions.

“This celebration showcased the past year’s record setting service numbers and the successes of Goodwill’s inspirational 2023 Celebration of Champions honorees!” said Nancy Ellis McClenaghan, president & CEO, Goodwill Industries serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties. “Key accomplishments achieved by our social enterprises were highlighted as well as the progress made to permanently decrease transportation barriers in our five-county area. The remaining funds granted to us by philanthropist MacKenzie Scott at the end of 2020 continue to fund temporary supports like bus passes and fuel cards as well as backing a revolving auto loan program to help individuals that may experience difficulty qualifying for traditional loans or would otherwise be vulnerable to predatory lending. We are very grateful for the support of our board of directors, team members and the community this past year!”

Celebration of Champion Honorees
A’Landra Bufford
Patricia Cook
Brandi Finney
Mansimran Kaur
Alan Mitchell and North End Community Improvement Collaborative
Marta Roueiheb and The Well Community Development Corporation
Aryn Schroeder
Robert Sukel
Towpath Credit Union

2024 – 2026 Board Officers Elected
• Jeana M. Singleton, Brennan Manna & Diamond – Chair
• Julie Katz, The Extra Daughter, LLC – First Vice Chair
• Amanda Barna, Center for Marketing & Opinion Research (CMOR) – Second Vice Chair
• David Bucci, PathSight Predictive Science – Treasurer
• Laura Judge, Liniform Service – Secretary

Directors Re-elected
• Jeff Stevenson — Campbell Construction, Inc.
• Charles A. Zonfa, MD, MBA — Summa Health

Directors Elected for First Three-Year Term
• Alyssa McClain, CPA, MTax –The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
• Kelly Wierzchowski – Crain, Langner & Co.
• Greta Johnson – Summit County Executive | Ilene Shapiro, Executive
• Lea Jalbert, MBA — Meaden & Moore
• Kristin Holbert Beynon – MAGNET
• Barb Snyder, ABRM, CRS, e-Pro, GREEN – Synder & Snyder Real Estate, Inc.
• Vicki Shepherd — Retired, Lucky Shoes, Inc.

2024-2025 Honorary Directors
• Dr. Raj Aggarwal — Retired, University of Akron
• Becky Babcox (1951-2012) — Retired, Babcox Publications
• Parker Berry II, CIC — Seibert-Keck Insurance
• Daniel C. Buser, Esq., CPCU — Crain, Langner & Co.
• S. Theresa Carter – Synthomer Foundation
• Dr. Pleas R. Chambers, III – AMP’s Specialized Marketing Group, LLC
• Chip Clupper — County of Summit | Ilene Shapiro, Executive
• Terrance Dalton – Retired, Community Support Services
• Joseph P. Doman, Jr. – UBS Financial
• William Glaeser – Retired, Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc.
• Dorothy O. Jackson (1933-2021) — Retired, City of Akron
• Randy S. Katz – Retired, City Scrap & Salvage
• Margaret D. Jordan, J.D. M.S. — Kiko Company
• Danielle J. Kimmell, CPA — Apple Growth Partners
• Douglas Klein, CPA – BDO
• Dr. Mary Beth Kluge (1936-2022) — Retired, Akron Public Schools
• Karen C. Lefton, Esq. – The Lefton Group, LLC
• Doug Lefton – Retired, Fairlawn Family Practice
• Lisa Mandel — Community Volunteer Leader
• Thom Mandel – Rubber City Radio Group
• Dan Marchetta, Sr. (1929-2015) — Retired, Marchetta Construction Company
• Joseph Manolas, CPA – Meaden & Moore
• Gregory McDermott – Retired, FirstMerit
• Jackie McDermott – Retired, Alcatel-Lucent University
• James E. Merklin, CPA, CFE – Bober Markey Fedorovich
• Julie Merklin — Community Volunteer Leader
• Cynthia K. Misheff — Community Volunteer Leader, Retired Educator
• Donald T. Misheff — Retired, Ernst & Young
• Shelby D. Morgan — W3 Financial Group
• Angela M. Neeley, MBA — METRO Regional Transit Authority
• C. Allen Nichols – Akron Bar Association
• Gary Rickel — Retired, CBRE
• Charles Schreckenberger — Braun & Steidl Architects, PRIME AE Group, Inc.
• Kim Schreckenberger — Retired, Akron Public Schools
• Marc Servodio, CFP®, AIF® — Vita Advisors, LLC
• Cherie Morris Shechter — Community Volunteer Leader
• Steven B. Shechter — Insurance Witness Consulting, The Business Brain Trust, RWS Business Services Companies
• Beth Sherwood — Community Volunteer Leader
• George Sherwood (1939-2023) — Retired, B. F. Goodrich
• John Shulan — Shulan’s Fairlawn Jewelers
• Stephen L. Strayer — PNC Bank
• Michael A. Sweeney — Brouse McDowell
• Barry E. Thoman, CPA — Meaden & Moore
• Russell Vernon — Retired, West Point Market
• Jerry Welty — Retired, Welty Building Company
• Mark Whitlam — J.C. Whitlam Manufacturing Co.
• Stephen D. Wilt — CAPTRUST Financial Advisors

Menu Sponsors
Thank you to the following sponsors supporting our 2023 events.
Platinum: Fifth Third Bank; Synthomer Foundation; Silver: Acrisure; Clarity HR; Eric & Nan McClenaghan; PNC Financial Services Group; W3 Financial Group; Bronze: Bober Markey Fedorovich; Brennan Manna & Diamond; Marc Servodio, CFP®, AIF® – Vita Advisors, LLC; Copper: S.A. Comunale; Diamond Patron: David & Kathleen Bucci; Chuck & Debbie Ducey; Bill & Mary Glaeser; William & Susan Hanlon; Danielle Kimmell; Charles & Leslie Zonfa; Gold Patron: Laura Judge; Mary Anne & C. Allen Nichols; Patron: Chip Clupper & Zebulon Keller; Media: akronlife and WAKR/WONE/WQMX/WNWV.

About Goodwill Industries Serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland & Richland Counties
The Goodwill Industries of Akron, Ohio, Inc., is a not-for-profit corporation that helps individuals prepare for, find, and retain employment. Operating in the five-county region of Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland & Richland, the agency was established in 1927. It is a private, independent organization, operating as an affiliate member of Goodwill Industries International. Goodwill helps to directly strengthen the region’s workforce through its employment programs and indirectly through the net proceeds from its retail outlets and Business Services division. For more information about GIA, visit or call 800-989-8428.


Contact: JoLene Gordon
(330) 786-2519