Goodwill Honors Program Champions and Re-elects Board Members

Event Co-chairs: Chas and Kim Schreckenberger

Event Co-chairs: Chas & Kim Schreckenberger

AKRON, Ohio — March 31, 2014 — Goodwill serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties re-elected board members and honored program champions during its Annual Meeting and Celebration of Champions event March 27.  The event hosted by Co-chairs, Kim and Chas Schreckenberger, was attended by nearly 200 individuals.

 “We were honored to chair this event that highlights the successes of its program participants,” said Kim and Chas Schreckenberger.  “For those with barriers to employment, the pride of receiving a paycheck can be elusive and that is why Goodwill is focused on helping individuals prepare for, find and retain employment. We are proud of the accomplishments of all the honorees and wish them continued success.” 


Some of Celebration of Champions Honorees from left to right: Darren Lynn, Monica Schnitzler, Amy Johnson, Larry Grant, Douglas Dawson and Jennifer Seman

Some of Celebration of Champions Honorees from left to right: Darren Lynn, Monica Schnitzler, Amy Johnson, Larry Grant, Douglas Dawson and Jennifer Seman


  • Douglas Dawson
  • Eric Edwards
  • Stacy Fuson
  • Larry Grant
  • Amy Johnson
  • Alec Lopano
  • Darren Lynn
  • Anthony Petak
  • Violet Ramunni
  • Cassandra Robertson
  • Monica Schnitzler
  • Jennifer Seman
  • Eva Stephenson


 Employer/Community Partner Honorees

  • Automated Packaging Systems, Inc.
  • Parsec Enterprises
  • Community Collaboration on Employment Expo in Richland, Crawford and Ashland Counties

    2014 – 2016 Board Officers from left to right: Danielle J. Kimmell, C. Allen Nichols, Margaret D. Jordan, Douglas Klein and Kim Schreckenberger

2014-2016 Board Officers Elected

  • C. Allen Nichols,  executive director, Akron Bar Association – elected Chairman of the Board
  • Danielle J. Kimmell, CPA , partner, Bober Markey Fedorovich –  elected 1st Vice Chair
  • Margaret  D. Jordan, J.D. M.S., marketing, SS&G Financial Services – elected 2nd Vice Chair
  • Douglas Klein, CPA, EA, associate director, SS&G Financial Services – elected Treasurer
  • Kim Schreckenberger, assistant, Braun & Steidl Architects – elected Secretary

Directors Re-elected

  • Richard Bromley – retired, United Airlines
  • Joseph P. Doman, Jr. – UBS Financial
  • William Glaeser –  retired, Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc.
  • Alisa Moore – FirstMerit Bank, N.A.
  • C. Allen Nichols – Akron Bar Association
  • Victoria Prussak, CWPM, CWC, ACE – Well…Now, LLC
  • George K. Sherwood – retired B.F. Goodrich Corporation
  • Jill Hinig Skapin – Summit County Executive Russell M. Pry’s Office
  • Jeff Stevenson – Campbell Construction

Retiring Directors

  • Jeanine P. Black – Bober Markey Fedorovich
  • Kerry Macomber – The City of Ravenna
  • Shelby D. Morgan – W3 Wealth Management, LLC
  • Barry E. Thoman, CPA – Meaden & Moore, Ltd.

2014-15 Honorary Directors

  • Becky Babcox (1951-2012) – Babcox Publications
  • Parker Berry II, CIC – Seibert-Keck Insurance
  • James Bunnell – Austin Tape & Label
  • Edward P. Calame – retired, First National Bank
  • James M. Dannemiller, CPA  – SS&G Financial Services 
  • Susan Hanlon, PhD – University of Akron
  • Dorothy Jackson – retired, City of Akron
  • John January – Mogen Real Estate Company
  • Randy S. Katz – City Scrap & Salvage 
  • Dan Marchetta, Sr. – retired, Marchetta Construction Company
  • Jackie McDermott – Alcatel-Lucent University
  • Patrick A. McGrath – Catholic Social Services
  • James E. Merklin, CPA, CFE – Bober Markey Fedorovich
  • Cynthia K. Misheff – community volunteer leader, retired educator
  • Donald T. Misheff – retired, Ernst & Young
  • Shelby D. Morgan – W3 Wealth Management, LLC
  • Angela M. Neeley, MBA – White Hat Management
  • Patrick J. Oaks – Welty/Boldt Joint Venture
  • Charles Schreckenberger – Braun & Steidl Architects
  • Steven B. Shechter – Evans Insurance Agency Inc.
  • John Shulan – Shulan’s Fairlawn Jewelers
  • Raymond E. Stankard – retired, Loral Systems Group
  • Sarah K. Stem – Fifth Third Bank
  • Stephen L. Strayer – PNC Bank
  • Michael A. Sweeney – Brouse McDowell, L.P.A.
  • Barry E. Thoman, CPA – Meaden & Moore, Ltd.
  • Larry Uhl – West Point Market
  • Russell Vernon – retired, West Point Market
  • Jerry Welty – retired, Welty Building Corporation
  • Mark Whitlam – J.C. Whitlam Manufacturing Co.
  • Stephen D. Wilt –  CAPTRUST Financial Advisors

Event Sponsors
Thank you to the event sponsors – Bronze: BCG & Company/BCG Systems, Bober Markey Fedorovich, Buzz & Patti Pelland, Eric & Nan McClenaghan, Fifth Third Bank, FirstMerit Bank, Kim & Chas Schreckenberger, Meaden & Moore, OMNOVA Solutions Foundation, Roetzel & Andress, White Hat Management; Table: Akron Bar Association, Hattie Larlham; Honoree Sponsors: Aaron Berke, Alisa Moore, Gary Rickel, Geoff Belz, Gizelle Jones, Jennifer Bako, Jill Hinig Skapin, Kerry Macomber, Kurt Lutz, Terry & Sharon Dalton; Media Partner: Rubber City Radio Group.

About Goodwill Industries Serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland & Richland Counties
The Goodwill Industries of Akron, Ohio, Inc., is a not-for-profit corporation that helps individuals prepare for, find, and retain employment. Operating in the five-county region of Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland, the agency was established in 1927. It is a private, independent organization, operating as an affiliate member of Goodwill Industries International, and a United Way agency in Summit County. Goodwill helps to directly strengthen the region’s workforce through its employment programs and indirectly through the net proceeds from its retail outlets and industrial services division. For more information about GIA, visit or call 800-989-8428.     


Contact:    Jennifer Bako
                  (330) 786-2519